Node Chair by Steelcase

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
SteelcaseNode
 
4.6

(based on 5 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

80%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Comfortable (3)

Cons

    Best Uses

      Reviewed by 5 customers

      Sort by

      Displaying reviews 1-5

      Back to top

       
      4.0

      Nice Chair but very expensive

      By Viv

      from Calexico, CA

      Pros

      • Comfortable
      • Easy to get in and out of
      • Mobile
      • Nice accessories

      Cons

      • Non Reversible Desktop

      Best Uses

        Comments about Steelcase Node:

        It's a great chair but not worth it for the price. The desktop is not reversible so you have to buy right or left desks. The casters are an asset and a liability as the kids can move around too easily.

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No
         
        5.0

        Node-tastic

        By Sound Studio

        from San Francisco

        Pros

        • Aesthetic
        • Comfort
        • Function
        • Mobility
        • Storage

        Cons

        • Price

        Best Uses

        • Classroom
        • Mobile workstation

        Comments about Steelcase Node:

        workshops and brainstorming. Love these chairs. Everyone who comes to the studio says how much they love the looks of these chairs and the comfort and convenience.

         
        4.0

        Love these!

        By Tom the AP

        from New York City

        Pros

        • Comfortable and flexible

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Regrouping In Classes

          Comments about Steelcase Node:

          These are great. They can be moved so kids can work in groups and all of their stuff goes with them. We ordered some of each color for one room so we can group kids by seat color AFTER they've chosen their seats. It helps to mix up groups. They get over the novelty pretty quickly and stop rolling around. The only complaint I have is that when you line them up to make a table in the middle, the tops don't all sit perfectly flat, but it still works.

           
          5.0

          Great for Classrooms

          By Paige P

          from Burlingame, CA

          Verified Reviewer

          Pros

          • Comfortable
          • Lightweight
          • Modern

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Classroom
            • Home Office

            Comments about Steelcase Node:

            We've had the chairs now for several weeks and couldn't be more pleased. Because they are so easy to move, we can configure the classroom any way we please to make for more effective use of class time. Plus, they're comfortable and attractive - what more can you ask for in a chair?

            (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

             
            5.0

            STUDENTS LOVE NODE CHAIRS

            By Dr. D

            from Pasadena, CA

            Verified Reviewer

            Pros

            • Comfortable
            • Versitle
            • Way cool

            Cons

            • Expensive

            Best Uses

            • Collaborative Learning

            Comments about Steelcase Node:

            Students love these things... we are currently using them in our supplemental instruction room.

            Displaying reviews 1-5

            Back to top

            Q&A

            Do you have questions about this product?

            get answers from real customers and in-house experts with AnswerBox.

            11 Questions | 11 Answers
            Displaying questions 1-10Previous | Next »
            • Q:

              How do you switch the chair from "rightie" to "lefty"?
              Asked on 5/16/2013 by Fercho from Northfield mn

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Nodes's personal worksurface swivels in tandem with seat and is adjustable for users of all sizes. It accommodates both left- and right-handed users and is large enough to support digital and analog resources.

                Answered on 5/27/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
            • Q:

              what material is the node chair made from?
              Asked on 5/2/2013 by ProdDes Student

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Materials
                Powder-coated steel and aluminum
                Molded polypropylene
                Molded glass-filled nylon plastic

                Answered on 5/20/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
            • Q:

              What is the weight capacity/limit and can a 6", 280# person sit in the comfortably? Also, can one sit for a 3 CR class and be comfortable as there is no cushion on the seat?
              Asked on 4/26/2013 by BarB from Northern Virginia, USA

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Node chair is durable and tough enough to support up to 300 lbs.
                Having no cushion allows the seat to be flexible, so it keeps you comfortable in a variety of postures and swivels to keep sightlines open between student and instructor, whiteboard, and other students.

                Answered on 5/17/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
            • Q:

              Do you ship in Manila? If we want custom colored Pantone 225C, is that possible?
              Asked on 4/7/2013 by Lynn from Manila, Philippines

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Hello Lynn. Currently we do not ship internationally. You will need to find a Steelcase dealer in your area to shop for Node. I am not certain if Steelcase can offer custom colors on the plastic, but a Dealer may be able to inquire with manufacturing. This Global dealer finder will assist your efforts. http://www.steelcase.com/en/Shop/dealers/Pages/list.aspx

                Answered on 4/8/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
            • Q:

              No height adjustment? Are they appropriate for use around a conference table?
              Asked on 3/7/2013 by Jane from Eagan, MN

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Correct. These chairs are not height-adjustable. They can certainly be used in an application like that, but we have many other chair offerings that are better suited for a conference table. These chairs are intended more for classroom settings.

                Answered on 3/7/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
            • Q:

              does the seat rise?
              Asked on 3/3/2013 by wow from wow

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                The seat swivels, but does not rise.

                Answered on 3/4/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
            • Q:

              I have a classroom that is 17"x34.5".

              Will this accomodate 32 Node chairs.
              Asked on 2/12/2013 by Fred from Weyers Cave, VA

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                We are glad you asked that, because we have a perfect answer for your question. We would love to suggest that you try out our new 3D Room Planner tool here: http://store.steelcase.com/design/

                With the 3D Room Planner, not only can you visualize your workspace down to the exact detail, but you can export your products directly into your shopping cart when you are done. Hope this helps!

                Answered on 2/13/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
            • Q:

              Wondering if you have local dealers in Austin Texas? I am at the Education Service Center and we are interested in the Nodes for one or more of our teacher training rooms.
              Asked on 1/31/2013 by Toongee from Austin TX

              1 answer

            • Q:

              Are these chairs suitable for elementary age students in regards to size?
              Asked on 1/23/2013 by Anonymous

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Unfortunately, the Node chairs are designed for higher education and would likely not be a suitable height range for very young students.

                Answered on 1/24/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
            • Q:

              Do you offer a somewhat bigger size for adult education?
              Asked on 1/18/2013 by Keith from Chicago, IL

              1 answer

              • Staff Reviewer

                A:

                Our Node chairs are perfect for adult education settings.

                Answered on 1/21/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
            Displaying questions 1-10Previous | Next »

            Do you have a question about this product? 

            FedEx Ground:

            Free FedEx shipping & returns. More Info »

            White Glove Delivery & Installation:

            This service includes a delivery appointment, inside delivery, assembly, installation & removal of all packing materials for our products that are larger or require special assembly. See pricing details, starting at $199. All sales on this product are final. More Info »

            Inside Delivery Only:

            This service is provided for our larger items that do not require professional assembly. The delivery agent will place items inside your door, but will not move items to your room of choice. See pricing details, starting at $99. All sales on this product are final. More Info »