Currency Founder Desk by Steelcase

Currency Founder Desk Reviews

Product Detail Page

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
SteelcaseCurrency Founder Desk
 
5.0

(based on 4 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Attractive (4)
  • Durable (4)
  • High quality (4)
  • Good value (3)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Home office (4)
    • Office (work) (3)

    Reviewed by 4 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 1-4

    Back to top

     
    5.0

    Excellent quality, as expected

    By Doc

    from boca raton

    Pros

    • Attractive Design
    • Easy to Move/Configurable
    • Good Value
    • High Quality
    • Sturdy

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Home Office
      • Office (Work)

      Comments about Steelcase Currency Founder Desk:

      I have a Steelecase desk which I bought 35 years ago. The desk is as good as is was on day one, in both appearance and function. This is why I bought a Steelecase desk for the home office in my new home. The quality of both the desk and the service (tracking, delivery, etc) were outstanding as I expected from Steelecase.

       
      5.0

      Fantastic Quality and Service

      By Baseball Fan

      from Exton, PA

      Verified Reviewer

      Pros

      • Attractive Design
      • Great Value
      • High Quality
      • Outstanding Service
      • Sturdy

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Home Office

        Comments about Steelcase Currency Founder Desk:

        This desk hit a home run! Fantastically stylish and functional. Priced reasonably For such great quality.

         
        5.0

        Pretty Good Desk

        By Caroline

        from New York, NY

        Verified Reviewer

        Pros

        • Attractive Design
        • Good Value
        • High Quality
        • Sturdy

        Cons

        • Difficult to Move

        Best Uses

        • Home Office
        • Office (Work)
        • Reception Areas

        Comments about Steelcase Currency Founder Desk:

        Nice big desk, perfect height. Supports healthy work postures; I paired it off with the Gesture chair. Now I don't want to write anywhere else!

         
        5.0

        Gr

        By George

        from Fresno Ca.

        Verified Reviewer

        Pros

        • Attractive Design
        • Easy to Move/Configurable
        • Good Value
        • High Quality
        • Sturdy

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • 3 Drayer Storage Files
          • Conference Rooms
          • Home Office
          • Lobby
          • Office (Work)
          • Training Areas

          Comments about Steelcase Currency Founder Desk:

          I would have liked a draker color and the white glove treatment was costly and delayed. The product though makes things well worth the weight. I especially like the sturdy file hingers locks and friendly staff.

          Displaying reviews 1-4

          Back to top

          Q&A

          Do you have questions about this product?

          get answers from real customers and in-house experts with AnswerBox.

          10 Questions | 10 Answers
          Displaying questions 1-10
          • Q:

            Is there a center pencil drawer avaiable for this desk?
            Asked on 12/7/2013 by Jeffrey from Stuart, FL

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Hello Jeffrey,

              We currently don't offer a center drawer for this desk on Steelcase Store, but if you contact an Authorized Steelcase Dealership in your area, they will be able to assist you in ordering one:

              http://store.steelcase.com/dealer-finder/

              Answered on 1/7/2014 by Erick from Steelcase
          • Q:

            What is the width of the space between the left and right drawers on the 60" model. I typically house a desktop PC on the floor in this space and need to know if there is enough legroom leftover. Thank you.
            Asked on 11/1/2013 by Larry from Huntington Beach, CA

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Hello Larry,

              Knee-space on the 60" wide desk is 28 1/2".

              Answered on 11/28/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
          • Q:

            Does this desk offer a knee space on the customer side of the desk? Thank you !! Jan
            Asked on 9/19/2013 by Jan from Savage,MN

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Hello Jan,

              No, there is no knee space on the visitor's side for this desk since the desk has a modesty panel (back panel).

              Answered on 9/25/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
          • Q:

            How do i remove drawers from my currency desk? Is there a catch to release the drawer from the tracks ?
            Asked on 7/19/2013 by steve from Glendale AZ

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Yes, it does have a lock catch. You should do the following.

              Pull the box or file drawer out until it stops. Press down on the lock catch on each side of drawer and pull out on the drawer.

              Answered on 7/23/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
          • Q:

            What ind of testing is done for this product?
            Asked on 5/12/2013 by Eman from Chicago

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Currency products go through different tests and certificates.
              • ANSI/SOHO S6.5-2008 Small Office / Home Office Tests.
              • ANSI/BIFMA X 5.9.
              • Worksurface edge profile, on edges designed to come into contact with users' wrists, complies with ISO 9241-5 (1998) Section 5.4.4, ANSI/HFES-100 (2008) section 8.3.1.4, BIFMA G1 (2002) Section 9, and CSA-Z412 (2000) section 7.5.12.
              • Standard high-pressure laminates meet or exceed NEMA LD3-2005 High-Pressure Decorative Laminate standards.
              • Product is Level™ 1 Certified with the BIFMA e3-2008 Furniture Sustainability Standards
              • SCS IndoorAdvantage™ Certification for indoor air quality.

              Answered on 5/21/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
          • Q:

            Does this desk have computer grommets in the top or sides?
            Asked on 5/4/2013 by Rog from Jacksonville, Fl.

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              We currently don't offer grommets on the Currency Founder Desk on Steelcase Store, but if you contact an Authorized Steelcase Dealership in your area, they will be able to assist you in ordering one that can be field installed:

              http://store.steelcase.com/dealer-finder/

              Answered on 5/20/2013 by Erick from Steelcase
          • Q:

            Does this desk ship assembled or is it KD?
            Asked on 2/15/2013 by Mark from Tukwila, WA

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Yes, this product ships fully-assembled.

              Answered on 3/6/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
          • Q:

            Hello Customer Service,
            The only question that I would like to ask is the
            quality of the wood.
            I would like to know if it's real wood or not?

            Thanks,
            Hollet Diehl
            Asked on 2/4/2013 by buffydiehl from Honolulu, Hawaii

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              It is not solid wood, but the core is very durable and it is a real wood laminate surface, and we think the quality is fantastic.

              Answered on 2/7/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
          • Q:

            Can I order a top only for the CURRENCY FOUNDERDESK ?
            Asked on 1/15/2013 by Anonymous

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Thank you for your question. I am sorry, but we only sell the unit as a whole. If you are interested in purchasing parts, like that, I would recommend contacting a Steelcase Dealer (via the link below), they may be able to help you.

              FYI: Our products are warranted for use with other Steelcase products only. I mention that because if you plan on attaching the top to a non-Steelcase item or altering it in any other fashion, the warranty on the product or part would be voided.
              http://www.steelcase.com/en/shop/dealers/pages/overview.aspx

              Answered on 1/21/2013 by ReidAtSteelcase
          • Q:

            Does it lock? Also,does it have a matching credenza?
            Asked on 12/16/2012 by Tree from McCormick,S.C.

            1 answer

            • Staff Reviewer

              A:

              Yes. The Founder desk locks on both sides, and we suggest Currency Lower Storage as a matching credenza solution.

              Answered on 1/7/2013 by Ryan from Steelcase Store Team from Grand Rapids, MI
          Displaying questions 1-10

          Do you have a question about this product? 

          FedEx Ground:

          Free FedEx shipping & returns. More Info »

          White Glove Delivery & Installation:

          This service includes a delivery appointment, inside delivery, assembly, installation & removal of all packing materials for our products that are larger or require special assembly. See pricing details, starting at $199. All sales on this product are final. More Info »

          Inside Delivery Only:

          This service is provided for our larger items that do not require professional assembly. The delivery agent will place items inside your door, but will not move items to your room of choice. See pricing details, starting at $99. All sales on this product are final. More Info »